Beacons shortlist announced

Editor News Make a Comment

AUCKLAND, Today: The big night on the media industry calendar is fast approaching, with finalists announced today for the 2022 Beacon Awards in association with oOh!media.

Organised by the Comms Council, the 2022 Beacon Awards will be presented at a live ceremony at the Aotea Centre in Auckland on Thursday 9 June.

Louise Bond, Convenor of Judges for Beacons 2022 said: “The 2022 Beacons is shaping up to be a showcase of excellent strategy and innovative thinking against an ever-changing environment for the brands and products represented in this year’s awards.

“Yet again Covid continued to be front and centre impacting supply chains, resourcing and the careful need to manage budgets to ensure maximum return. Finalists all managed to navigate through the uncertainty to deliver outstanding results through carefully identified insights, considered use of tech and in some cases through sticking to a tried-and-true approach.  That said there are many examples of inspiration and creativity to truly engage audiences. The calibre of entries across the board demonstrates the hard work of media agencies and media owners who are committed to delivering business success for their clients.”

A panel of 118 judged the preliminary round online.  They assessed entries and selected just over 120 entries from across the 25 Beacons categories to go through to the next round – these can be viewed here. The category judging discussions to determine the silver and gold beacon winners will take place on the 12th May at Eden Park attended by 90 senior-level industry leaders, led by our eight Executive Judges.  Angela Blair, General Manager NZ at Restaurant Brands Limited; Anne Lipsham, Head of Strategy at FCB Media; Gareth O’Connor, Managing Director at Harvey Cameron; Gemma Bevan, Head of Marketing, Communications and Customer Experience at Worksafe; Matthew Pickering, General Manager of Marketing at ANZ; Nicky Greville, Managing Director at Spark Foundry; Nick Vile, General Manager at oOh!media, and Rufus Chuter, Managing Partner at Together.

Final results will be ratified by the Executive Judges on May 26 and then all the confirmed Golds will be judged by our Best in Show global panel late May. Tickets for the 2022 Beacons Awards in association with oOh!media, can now be booked reserved here.

The Comms Council would like to thank our commercial partners oOh!media, TVNZ, and thank our sponsors Nielsen, The Radio Bureau, NZME, Meta, Google, Cartology, and Warner Bros. Discovery. Thank you for making the 2022 Beacons Awards possible. 

Reminder: Entries are open for the Warner Bros. Discovery Inspiring Individual Award 2022. Find all the details of how to nominate here. 

Share this Post