Call for Nominations for Inspiring Individual Award

EditorNews Make a Comment

AUCKLAND, Wednesday: Nominations for the Inspiring Individual Award are currently open, as the Comms Council and Warner Bros. Discovery seek out the industry’s most inspiring leaders.

This award, which honours the late Sandy Smith, recognises the unsung heroes who inspire their peers through their generosity of spirit, patience, willingness, and passion. These individuals are integral to the success and culture of their company and are nominated by their colleagues.

Discovery’s ad sales director AUNZ Donna Gurney says ”It’s that wonderful time of year again, when our industry can acknowledge those who actively support others to unlock their full potential, and those who contribute to driving a better industry for all.

“This is such a special award, and we are honoured to continue recognising Sandy’s legacy at the Beacons this year.”

Sandy Smith has worked in the media industry for 25 years, building enduring client relationships. Her expertise and understanding of the sector led to her involvement in groups dedicated to improving advertising standards, conducting research and addressing key industry issues.

“The recipient, who will be announced at the Beacon Awards on 15 June, will be granted $10,000 to further their education.”

The Inspiring Individual award is recognition given to individuals who have consistently demonstrated outstanding leadership, mentoring, or coaching skills in the workplace, regardless of their position or job title within our industry.

The Inspiring Individual Award was first introduced at the Comms Council Media Awards in 2011. The inaugural recipient was Richard Fenner, who worked at SparkPHD.

Other notable individuals who have received the award include Liz Fraser, who was the GM of and chairwoman of the IAB at the time; Alistair Jamison, ceo of Starcom & VivaKi NZ; Louise Bond, ceo of SparkPHD in 2013; Claire Harris from Nielsen in 2014, Chrissy Payne of OMD in 2015, Julia-Ann Hedges in 2016, Matt Bale, co-founder of MBM in 2017; Robert Harvey, ceo of Dentsu in 2018; Anne Lipsham, head of strategy at FCB Media in 2019; Sean McCready, co-founder and managing partner at MBM in 2021; and Gina McKinnon, ceo of OMG Content NZ/APAC in 2022.

The recipient of the Sandy Smith Inspiring Individual Award, which will be announced at the Beacon Awards Show on 15 June, will be granted $10,000 to further their education, providing an opportunity to gain additional experience and knowledge that they can share with others.

Share this Post