Five Media Design School teams shortlisted at AdStars

EditorNews Make a Comment

After sifting through 4000 thousand global entries, 210 judges from 62 countries have voted, and the non-professional AdStars shortlist has been released. Two AdSchool student teams from Media Design School Auckland have scored two of only nine shortlist places shortlisted worldwide in the Innovation category, and three more teams have been shortlisted in Print. 

“Our students have to show trophy-winning skills in the innovations that lie at the heart of the new advertising playing field, as well as the foundational skills that print media can still teach them,” says AdSchool CD Kate Humphries.

“So, we’re delighted to see our students recognized in the biggest ad competition in Asia for their ability to have insightful ideas in both categories.

“We owe a big thanks to the industry panel that came in last month and not only singled out all of these ideas, but gave us important feedback that helped to polish them up.”

“We owe a big thanks to the industry panel that not only singled out all of these ideas, but gave us important feedbackto polish them up.”

Humphries congratulated Zach James & Till Dimmers for making it onto the Innovation shortlist with Coffeebucks (Starbucks), and Simon Stuart & Jack Gravatt for OnMyWay (What’sApp).

“And for making it onto the Print shortlist some hearty backslaps to Till Dimmers & Roberto Campos for Help Someone (Sabun Rescue Soap); Juan Kim & Kyra Butler for Turns Ugly (Sabun Rescue Soap); and Izzy Curran & Ipshita Ipshita for Nice, with a bit of stick (Nice blocks).

“And while we’re here, we’d like to throw a few congratulations in the direction of the professional categories to MDS grads Jake O’Driscoll & Sylvia Humphries (DDB) for scoring a total of seven shortlisted places for The Breast Cancer Screenings (Rialto); Amy-Rose Lynch (DDB) for two shortlist places for Donate a fish (Coastguard) and to Steve Hansen (Clemenger BBD0) for his three shortlisted places for Conscious Crossing (Kiwi Rail).”

The final round of judging for both the professional and non-professional categories will take place at the AdStars Festival on Tuesday 22 August and Wednesday 23 August.

Share this Post