Australia’s AWARDS taps Kiwis for jury duty

EditorNews Make a Comment

Six senior creatives with strong links to NZ have been named as jury members for Australia’s AWARD Awards. One of them – FCB’s Auckland-based Asia Pacific ECD James Mok – has been appointed a jury chairman (chairing the Branded Entertainment & Content jury). And DDB Sydney ECD Toby Talbot, formerly ECD in Auckland at Whybin\TBWA and DDB, will chair the Print, Poster & Outdoor jury.

Special Group’s Matty Burton will sit on the Print, Poster & Outdoor jury, Colenso BBDO’s Simon Vicars and FCB’s Hywell James are both on the Radio jury, Y&R’s Josh Moore and FCB’s Peter Vegas will sit on the is on the Promotion/Experiential/PR jury.

The chairman of judges is Dan Wieden (Wieden+Kennedy.

In all, a total of 110 of Asia Pacific’s best creatives will help judge the 36th AWARD Award winners, with the first jury starting on 28 January.

“A lot of work goes into selecting panels with the right mix of networks, skills and experience, while ensuring new and fresh perspectives are introduced each time,” said AWARD chairman Mark Harricks,

“Working within these requirements, gender diversity has also been a key focus this year. We have secured more than double the number of female leaders for our jury compared to last year. Obviously this still isn’t the balance we are looking to achieve, but it is a positive step forward.”

The annual AWARD Awards presentation will take place on Thursday 19 March 2015 at Sydney Town Hall.

AWARD Judging  Panels 2015

Dan Wieden – Chairman of Judges


Chairman – Ralph Van Dijk – Eardrum
Marrianne Little – Campaign with Legs
Glenn Dalton – AJF Partnership
Richard Morgan – 303Lowe
Steven Thomson – Loud
Hywel James – FCB
Simon Vicars – Colenso BBDO
Jim Curtis – BMF
Bruce Heald – Noise International
Rob Martin-Murphy – Moon Commuincations


Chairman – Tim Buesing – Reactive
Jay Morgan – Havas
James Theophane – Saatchi & Saatchi
Brian Merrifield – Common Ventures
Ashadi Hopper – Soap
Damian Royce
Gavin McLeod – R/GA
Matt Grogan – Analog Folk
Kara Jenkins – Isobar
Richard Smith – Lavendar

Direct Marketing

Chairman – Pat Baron – McCann
Niccola Phillips – M&C Saatchi
Richard Berney – 303Lowe
Ben Pearce – DDB
Leo Bajzert – The Works
Sandy Rudd – Pulse Marketing
Julie Matthews – Enigma Communication
Nick Cummins – The Royals
Matt Kemsley – Matterhorn
Hamish Stewart – R/GA

Print, Poster & Outdoor

Chairman – Toby Talbot – DDB
Mietta McFarlane – Droga5
Andrew Woodhead – Leo Burnet
Simon Langley – JWT
Matty Burton – Special Group
Andy Flemming – M&C Saatchi
David Ponce de Leon – McCann
Jonno McMahon – Whybin\TBWA
Brendon Guthrie – Ogilvy
Steve Carlin – Longtail

Print Craft

Chairman – Cameron Blackley – BMF
Rob Beamish – DDB
Michael Knox – Grey
Matt Ridley – SHEDcsc
Adam Whitehead – 303Lowe
Chris Johnson – Havas WW
Kirsty Gavin – Freelance
Andy Jones – McCann
Ben Couzens – cumminsandpartners
Julian Wolkenstein – Louis & Co


Chairman – Jason Little – For The People
Jason Young – Leo Burnett
Murray Bell – Semi Permanent
Timothy Kelleher – Sons & Co
Anthony De Leo – Voice
Paul Taboure – There
Gemma O’Brian – Jacky Winter
Jo Roca – Interbrand
Danielle de Andrade – Garbutt Design
Shannon Bell – Re

Promotion & Experiential, and PR

Chairman – Tom Spicer – Arnold Furnace
Sylvianne Heim – Affinity
Tara Ford – Whybin\TBWA
Paul Swann – The Works
Tim Holmes – JWT
Paul Nagy – Clemenger BBDO
Peter Vegas – FCB
Josh Moore – Y&R NZ
Craig Buchanan – The Brand Agency
Simon Hadfield – UMWW

Craft in Film

Chairman – Michael Ritchie – Revolver
Hamish Rothwell – Goodoil Films
Rod James – M&C Saatchi
Peter Scibberas – Method Studios
Michael Dole – Joy
Karl Richter – Level Two Music
Boris Garelja – Ogilvy
Justin Bromley – Fin Design & Effects
Elle Bullen – Clemenger BBDO
Julie Faktor – Yonder

Branded Entertainment and Content

Chairman – James Mok – FCB
Michael Hilliard – Finch
Matt Devine – Glue / Revolver / Will O’Rourke
Mike Burdick – The Monkeys
Christe Poulos – jumpshop
Alex Evans – Havas WW
Gerhard Myburgh – JWT
Scott Lambert – Innocean
Asheen Naidu – Whybin\TBWA
Michelle Walsh – Publicis Mojo

Film & Video

Chairman – Leon Wilson – CHE Proximity
David Joubert – GPY&R
Rory McKechnie – DDB
Paul Sharp – The Monkeys
Guy Futcher – Leo Burnett
Michael Spirkovski – Saatchi & Saatchi
Wesley Hawes – Whybin\TBWA
Jim Ingram – Cumminandpartners
Murray White – BWM
Noah Marshall – The Sweet Shop

Creative Innovation, Integrated Campaign & New Product Development

Chairman – Dan Wieden – Wieden & Kennedy
Philip Andrew – Clemenger BBDO
Grant Rutherford – Publicis Mojo
Scott Nowell – The Monkeys
Darren Spiller – DDB
Andy Dilallo – Leo Burnett
Warren Brown – BMF
Paula Keamy – M&C Saatchi
Georgia Arnott – Banjo
Jo Sellars – Freelance

Share this Post