The 2022 Best Design Award winners

EditorNews Make a Comment

AUCKLAND, Friday: The best in New Zealand design were celebrated at last night’s Best Design Awards. This year saw 1381 initial entries, and the Black, Purple and Gold Pin winners were honoured at the Aotea Centre.

The show was emceed by Jenifer Ward-Lealand and attended by 1000 designers.

Organised by the Toi Manahau/Designers Institute of New Zealand, the awards recognise the strongest work produced across nine core categories: Digital, Product, Toitanga, Graphic, Moving Image, Spatial, Value of Design, Public Good, and User Experience.

“Winners included Colenso BBDO, Clemenger BBDO, Designworks, Stanley St.”

The Black Pin winners included Designworks ECD Jef Wong, Emirates Team New Zealand, Beyond Binary Code by Colenso BBDO (design directors: Simon Vicars, Maria Devereux, Dan Wright, Beth O’Brien, Thomas Darlow)

The Gold winners included Paku Gardening Tools by Paku (creative directors Johnson Witehira, James Prier), Lightly by Formway (design directors Paul Wilkinson, Kent Parker, and Toitanga: Wairau Māori Art Gallery, Matariki Lights, Kākāpō Creek Children’s Garden, Matariki Lights by Creature Post (design director Lakshman Anandanayagam).

Purple Pin winners included NZTA Mixed Meds by Clemenger BBDO Wellington (design directors Steve Hansen, JP Twaalfhoven, Pete Baker), Support Local, Shop Local by Stanley St (design directors Sam Cox, Peter Wujkowski, Gaelyn Churchill, Haruka Kawamoto

The Best Design Awards were established in 1988 and have been held annually since 1996.

Share this Post