BP, Whittakers, Frucor, Geoff Ross cast long shadows at Marketing Awards

EditorNews Make a Comment

Around 780 people rallied at the Langham Auckland last night – under the guiding hand of ever-affable emcee Te Radar (on his sixth consecutive year in the job) to see the TVNZ NZ Marketing Awards winners honoured.

BP Oil won both the Supreme Award and the Retail category. The judges were particularly impressed by BP’s recognition of the value and opportunity of direct database ownership for itself, its suppliers and its customers, now and for the long term.

Category winners included iSite Media, Westpac, Fonterra Brands Tip Top, Tait Communications, Holden, AA Smartfuel, Insight NZ & the National Influenza Specialist Group, Ateed & Heart of the City, TRN¸ the NZ Aids Foundation, Auckland Transport, DB Breweries, Mercury Energy, My Food Bag and the Far North District Council.

Rookie Marketer of the Year was Jade Clark of Fonterra Brands (brand manager of Tip Top), Marketer of the Year was Aisha Daji Punga, commercial development manager at Frucor.

The Marketing Excellence award went to Philip Poole, chief marketing officer at J H Whittaker & Sons, and the judges all acknowledged the company’s classic brand story-telling and commitment to product quality. They said: “Whittaker’s has built both a business and marketing strategy based on quality and ongoing innovation, with marketing at the essence of its operational style – a truly inspirational company and brand”.

This year Geoff Ross, founder of 42 Below, chairman of Trilogy and chief executive of Moa Brewing was honoured for his commitment to the marketing profession and industry and joined the stellar list of individuals who have already been inducted into the Marketing Hall of Fame.

  • At press time, the promised “full list of winners and their stories” had failed to materialise at www.everythingmarketing.co.nz. Hopefully, some time today the organisers will catch up with their own publicity machine.



Supreme Award (sponsored by TVNZ): BP Oil New Zealand, Friends with Ongoing Benefits
Marketing Excellence (APN NZ Media): Philip Poole, J.H. Whittaker & Sons
Marketing Hall of Fame (TVNZ): Geoff Ross, founder 42 Below, Chairman Trilogy, ceo Moa
Marketer of the Year (Colmar Brunton): Aisha Daj Punga, Frucor
Rookie Marketer of the Year (News Works): Jade Clark, Fonterra Brands (Tip Top)
Automotive: Holden NZ, Holden VF Commodore Launch
B2B: iSite Media, Highly Targeted Outdoor
Consumer Products & Services: AA Smartfuel, The Business Backbone
Export (NZT&E): Tait Communications, P25 Best Practices Campaign
FMCG (BrandWorld): Fonterra Brands, Tip Top Back To Nature
Financial & Banking (Mailshop): Westpac, Symphony Customer Engagement Programme
Healthcare: Insight NZ & National Influenza Specialist Group, 2013 Vaccination Campaign
Lifestyle/Travel/Leisure: ATEED & Heart of the City, AKL: The Show Never Stops
Media/Publishing: The Radio Network, iHeartRadio Launch
Not-for-Profit: NZ AIDS Foundation, Love Your Condom
Public Sector: Auckland Transport, Travel Myths
Retail (The Wine Portfolio): BP Oil NZ, Friends with Ongoing Benefits
Sponsorship: DB Breweries, Tui Catch a Million
Technology: Tait Communications, P25 Best Practices Campaign
Utilities/Communications (Ubiquity): Mercury Energy, GEM – The Good Energy Monitor



Emerging Business/New Brand (Image Centre Group): My Food Bag, My Food Bag Launch
Innovation: iSite Media, Highly Targeted Outdoor
Insight: Westpac, Symphony Customer Engagement Programme
Marketing Leadership (APN NZ Media): Far North District Council, Let’s Talk Crap!
Sustainability: Fonterra Brands, Tip Top Back To Nature
Transformational (Boston Digital): iSite Media, Highly Targeted Outdoor

Share this Post