Calling all entries for the 2023 Beacon Awards in association with oOh!media

Editor News Make a Comment

AUCKLAND, Wednesday: The Comms Council has issued its official entry call for the 2023 Beacon Awards in association with oOh!media.

This is the fourth year that the council’s commercial partner oOh!media has been the major sponsor for the Beacons, which will bring together the industry’s finest media thinkers to celebrate the achievements from another challenging year.

Every year the Beacons steering group come together to review the awards programme to ensure that the categories accurately reflect the work our agencies are doing for their clients, and as such, a couple of changes have been made for 2023.

This year’s review has seen the Best Use of Social and Best Use of Content combine as the steering group seeks to move away from platform specific categories.

It has also seen the removal of the Best Launch and Media Innovation categories on the basis that excellence in these areas will inevitably require excellence in other categories, so they are no longer needed as standalone categories.

For similar reasons, Advertiser of the Year has been removed as this category overlaps with Best in Show. In addition, preliminary and category judging stages have merged with the intent to boost consistency and ensure the best work is being appropriately awarded.

“To win at the Beacons means being behind work that is leading the industry. They are not easy to win and even being a finalist is a fantastic achievement.”

Simon Bird, head of strategy & measurement at PHD, and a member of the 2023 Beacons Steering Committee, said: “To win at the Beacons means being behind work that is leading the industry.

“They are not easy to win and even being a finalist is a fantastic achievement.

“In terms of writing your entries, our advice is, as always, to start writing as early as you can – they always take longer than expected. Once you have drafted your entries ask your colleagues to review them and spend as much time as you have crafting your story.

“If it’s your first time entering, take advantage of the industry resources, such as the entry-writing workshops and ask for help from those that have entered and won before.

“Lastly, make sure your results data is clear and links directly back to the campaign’s objectives.

“The awards night is a chance for us to get together and be inspired by the best work in the country and celebrate what a wonderful industry we work in.

“We wish you all the best with your entries. We are looking forward to being inspired by the quality of your work and, of course, celebrating your successes at the Aotea Centre on Thursday 15 June 2023.”

  • The call for entries is now live, with all entry categories and forms on the Comms Council website:


Call For Entry: Wednesday 14 December 2022
Early Bird Deadline: Wednesday 5 April
Final Deadline: Wednesday 19 April
Category Judging Online: Wednesday 10 May – Friday 19 May
Category Judging Day: Tuesday 23 May
Executive Online Judging: Tuesday 30 May – Tuesday 6 June
Executive Judging Day: Thursday 8 June
Awards Show: Aotea Centre, Thursday 15 June

Share this Post