Zespri, Creedy win at Deloitte Top 200 Awards

Editor News Make a Comment

AUCKLAND, Wednesday: The winners of the 2018 Deloitte Top 200 awards have been crowned at Spark Arena in Auckland, acknowledged for their business excellence and noteworthy leadership across 10 award categories.

This year’s event theme was The Power of Purpose, which celebrates companies with a strong sense of purpose and the courage to embrace change.

Judging panel convenor Fran O’Sullivan (NZME’s editorial director – business) says the organisations and individuals that received awards this evening are extremely impressive, representing the best of New Zealand innovation and business.

The Deloitte Top 200 judges selected Zespri International as the Deloitte Digital & Marsh 2018 Company of the Year.

O’Sullivan said: “Zespri lifted its profits by 38% to $101.8m in 2018 on $2.4b of sales, and it expects higher returns still in 2019. These returns represent the culmination of its long-term strategy and dedication to innovation.

“Over the past five years, Zespri’s total shareholder return has increased at a compound average rate of 80% per annum. The kiwifruit industry is a great example of how to add value to primary sector exports and a classic New Zealand innovation success story.”

Deloitte and ServiceNow Chief Executive of the Year was awarded to Russel Creedy from Restaurant Brands New Zealand Limited. “Restaurant Brands’ ability to grow domestically while expanding overseas through new acquisitions has seen its value steadily increase in 2018,” said O’Sullivan.

“Dr Marilyn Waring was honoured for her pioneering role on the economic importance of women’s unpaid work.”

“Restaurant Brands is headed by Russel Creedy, and its successful overseas expansion has been skilfully executed with sustained momentum. Creedy’s leadership style has evolved over the years, and with a strong team in place and local operations performing well he’s been able to spend more time on strategic thinking. This has enabled Restaurant Brands to make expansive – and thus far highly lucrative.

The Sheffield Visionary Leader title was awarded to Dr Marilyn Waring, for her pioneering work on the economic importance of women’s unpaid work, and focus on the inequalities of globalisation. This is the only award that isn’t shortlisted prior to the event.

Deloitte ceo Thomas Pippos said: “We are constantly inspired by the high calibre of winners at the Deloitte Top 200 awards and this year is no exception. These individuals and organisations have the vision and courage to tackle the big issues, lead by example and successfully steer their organisations and our economy into the future.”

NZME ceo Michael Boggs said partnering with the Deloitte Top 200 awards is something NZME is proud of.

“NZME would like to congratulate all winners and finalists. We are a company that loves to champion inspiring people, and these awards showcase New Zealand businesses and leaders doing great things. This year’s winners have shown us exceptional examples of businesses and individuals determined to be the best and do the best for our country.”


  • Deloitte Digital and Marsh Company of the Year: Zespri International (finalists Restaurant Brands NZ Ltd, Tatua Co-operative Dairy Company, Deloitte and ServiceNow)
  • Chief Executive of the Year: Russel Creedy/Restaurant Brands NZ Ltd (finalists Fraser Whineray/Mercury NZ, Xavier Simonet/Kathmandu)
  • Chief Financial Officer of the Year: Jon Raby/ASB Bank (finalists Mark Royle/Freightways Ltd, Nigel Greenwood/Synlait Milk)
  • NZ Herald Chairperson of the Year: Peter McBride/Zespri International (finalists Liz Coutts/Ports of Auckland, David Pilkington/Port of Tauranga
  • MinterEllisonRuddWatts Excellence in Governance: Sanford (finalists Trade Me, Ports of Auckland)
  • Eagle Technology Young Executive of the Year: Caroline Rawlinson/Trade Me (finalists Tasha Impey/TVNZ, Kayn Miller/Chorus
  • 2degrees Best Growth Strategy: Fulton Hogan (finalists Delegat Group Ltd, Skyline Enterprises
  • OneRoof.co.nz Most Improved Performance: Skellerup Holdings Ltd (finalists Kathmandu, Kordia Group
  • Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment Diversity and Inclusion Leadership: Skycity Entertainment Group Ltd (finalists Vodafone NZ, Downer)
  • Sheffield Visionary Leader: Marilyn Waring

About Deloitte Top 200
29 Years of Business excellence. The Deloitte Top 200 Awards were established in 1990 and are held annually to recognise and applaud outstanding individual and management team performances among New Zealand’s largest companies and trading organisations. From the Top 200 index, significant contenders are identified for a series of awards. As Deloitte has varying professional relationships with many of the Top 200 organisations, it is not involved in determining the Top 200 awards finalists or winners. An independent, thorough and comprehensive judging process follows with the winners announced at a black tie event held annually in November/December.

Share this Post