Deloitte unveils its Top 200 Business Awards finalists

EditorNews Make a Comment

The finalists of the 2017 Deloitte Top 200 Awards have been announced. The awards, which celebrate excellence in business, will be held on Thursday 23 November at Spark Arena in Auckland.

The awards are celebrating 28 years of business excellence since their establishment in 1990. They recognise and applaud outstanding individual, team and management performances in New Zealand’s largest companies and trading organisations.

The theme of this year’s event is ‘the spirit of resilience’. Judge Cathy Quinn from MinterEllisonRuddWatts said in every category there were quality candidates for consideration as finalists.

“Whittling down to the top three in each category was not straightforward and took careful deliberation. Accordingly, making it as a finalist in any category is an achievement for any company or individual.

“Whittling down to the top three in each category took careful deliberation. Making the finals is an achievement for anybody.”

“The judges applaud every finalist and ask that the business community and their colleagues also recognise and congratulate them.”

Judge and panel convenor Fran O’Sullivan said the judges congratulate all finalists. “All finalists are highly performing companies or individuals who stood out from their peers for a variety of reasons,” she said.

The judging panel (pictured above) includes Dame Alison Paterson, Sandy Maier, Jonathan Mason, Neil Paviour-Smith and Cathy Quinn. Fran O’Sullivan is the judging panel convenor. Mark Allan, Liam Dann, Steven Naude and Glenys Talivai judged Young Executive of the Year.

Deloitte asked M+AD to thank its sponsors. Ministry of Business, Innovation & Employment, 2degrees, IMNZ, Eagle Technology, MinterEllisonRuddWatts, QBE Insurance, Sheffield  Massey Business School and Orbit World Travel, Marsh and Deloitte are all category sponsors

  • Tickets and further information on the 2017 Deloitte Top 200 is available here. Tickets cost $380 each, and can be purchased as singles or as a table of 10, from here:


Deloitte and Marsh Company of the Year:

  • Tourism Holdings Limited
  • a2 Milk
  • Briscoe Group

Deloitte and Orbit World Travel Chief Executive of the Year 

  • Russel Creedy – Restaurant Brands
  • Geoffrey Babidge – a2 Milk
  • Simon Moutter – Spark

Massey Business School Chief Financial Officer of the Year 

  • Grant Ellis – Restaurant Brands
  • Paul Chambers – Meridian
  • Steve Gray – Port of Tauranga

QBE Insurance Chairperson of the Year

  • Jan Dawson – Westpac New Zealand
  • Rob Campbell – Tourism Holdings/Summerset Group/WEL Networks
  • Peter McBride – Zespri International

MinterEllisonRuddWatts Excellence in Governance 

  • Sanford
  • Air New Zealand
  • Abano Healthcare

Most Improved Performance Award

  • Xero
  • 2degrees
  • NZME Limited, 2 Graham Street, Auckland
  • Datacom

2degrees Best Growth Strategy 

  • Tourism Holdings Limited
  • a2 Milk
  • Zespri International

Ministry of Business, Innovation & Employment Diversity & Inclusion Leadership 

  • Stuff – Fairfax Media
  • Air New Zealand
  • Fonterra

Eagle Technology and IMNZ Young Executive of the Year

  • Komal Mistry – Fonterra Ventures
  • Sasha Lockley – Avanti Finance
  • Ed Hyde – Spark Ventures

Sheffield Visionary Leader

  • Announced at the awards ceremony.

Share this Post