DIA, FCB, Mango, HMC take centre-stage at PR Awards

EditorNews Make a Comment

NZME, Mango (for DDB’s Re:Scam), HMC PR Hamilton, FCB, Campbell Squared, Wright Comms, Ateed, Watercare, AUT, and the NZTA were rewarded at the 2018 annual PRINZ Awards, held last night in Hamilton. The Department of Internal Affairs won the Supreme Award for its entry He Tohu Exhibition.

“This campaign, to re-house New Zealand’s iconic constitutional documents, reached the hearts and minds of New Zealanders for a once-in-a-lifetime event that captured national attention,” said chief judge Lisa Finucane.

The DIA campaign also won the Marketing Communication – Integrated Award category. 

Finucane said the entry encompassed both professionalism and the creativity and heart that identifies winning campaigns.

“This campaign was well-planned and crafted. It had a creative idea at its heart and execution that followed through on its promises,” she said.

“The campaign team confronted the need to rebuild stakeholder relations and create a positive public response for a project that had faced criticism in the past. The entry exemplifies everything a marketing PR campaign should be and showcases the results of a truly integrated campaign.”

PR Consultancy of the Year
Winners of the PR Consultancy of the Year categories were also announced at the gala dinner. HMC Communications, Hamilton, won the small to medium category. Campbell Squared Communications, Tauranga won the medium to large category for a second year in a row. Wright Communications, winner of the small to medium category in 2017, was highly commended in the medium to large category this year.

The PRINZ Awards are now in their 44th year, recognising excellence in New Zealand’s public relations and communications industry, promoting continuous improvement, and celebrating best practice. This year’s awards attracted 87 entries from around the country.

The Awards are judged by Fellows and senior practitioners of the Institute with the assistance of international colleagues.

“The winning campaign was well-planned and crafted. It had a creative idea at its heart, and execution that followed through on its promises.”


Supreme Award

  • Winner: He Tohu Exhibition – Cheryl Klaui, Darin To’o, Jenny Riches, Kim Chambers and Rebecca Lancashire, Department of Internal Affairs

Corporate Public Relations

  • Winner: Countdown phases out single-use plastic bags – supermarket brand takes leading position – James Walker, Kate Porter and Katherine Klouwens of Countdown; Courtney Stayte, Louise Wright and Sarah Williams of Porter Novelli and Holly Lindsey and Rose MacNicol of Fuse
  • Highly Commended: Investing for your energy future – Helen Duncan, Powerco

Government / Quasi Government Public Relations

  • Winner: Walesi – connecting a country, transforming a nation – Angela Campbell, Corrie Taylor, Jessica Cushing, Scott Campbell and Yannis Naumann, Campbell Squared Communications
  • Highly Commended: 100 or 110 – what do you think? – Claire Pedersen-Croll and Janette Williams, New Zealand Transport Agency

Internal Communications

  • Highly Commended: NZME: Driving strategy in our regional offices with Boggsy’s bus – Rowena D’Souza and Jessica Nutley, NZME
  • Highly Commended: Turning Auckland DHB pink to launch anti-bullying programme
  • Speak Up | Kaua ē patu Wairua – Maxine Stead and Rachel Lorimer, Auckland DHB

Limited Budget / Not-for-Profit Public Relations

  • Highly Commended: Good Heavens – Great Barrier Island’s dark sky – Anika Forsman, Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development
  • Highly Commended: Re:scam – turning the tables on scammers – Chloe Tonkin, Claudia Macdonald, Max Burt and Sean Brown,  Mango
  • Highly Commended: The Treecreeper that rose from the ashes – Jo Scott, Great Scott Communications and Francesca Eathorne of Antarctic Heritage Trust

Marketing Communication – Integrated

  • Winner: He Tohu Exhibition – Department of Internal Affairs – Cheryl Klaui, Darin To’o, Jenny Riches, Kim Chambers and Rebecca Lancashire, Department of Internal Affairs
  • Highly Commended: Reconnecting New Zealand – the story of a road opening – NCTIR and New Zealand Transport Agency

Marketing Communication – Public Relations

  • Winner: Doing things differently: How to introduce the country’s toughest farming rules – Chelsea Halliwell, Resolve Communications; Angus McLeod and Gerald Raymond, Environment Canterbury
  • Winner: Vector lights of Auckland Harbour Bridge – Fiona McCauley and Sara Cairney, Auckland Council; Richard Llewellyn, Vector; Anika Forsman of Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development
  • Highly Commended: The sparky experience – Lorraine Harding, Powerco

Special Project or Short-term Campaign

  • Winner: People power: Engaging the New Zealand public with the 2017 general election – Annalie Brown, Jenna Ward, Jennifer Little, Paul Mulrooney, Sidah Russell and Ryan Willoughby, Massey University
  • Winner: Uniting Auckland to save 20 in a time of crisis – David Hawkins, Gemma Bridge, Janie Smith, Maxine Clayton, Melanie Verran, Rachel Hughes and Ramari Young, Watercare Services
  • Highly Commended: Bulls Eye: A Genetic Game-changer to produce greener cows – Peta Goldsworthy and Charlotte FitzPatrick, HMC Communications

Communicating in Diversity

  • Highly Commended: Say it Tika (Say it right) – Laura Platts, FCB and Kiri Coughlan, Vodafone NZ

Sustained Public Relations

  • Winner: Competition can’t stop us: keeping customers using convincing community relations – Bethany Chapman and Heather Claycomb, HMC Communications
  • Highly Commended: GP – heart of the community – Angela Paul, Helen Morgan-Banda and Katie Mathison of the Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners

Paul Dryden Tertiary Award

  • Winner: Mercy Ships New Zealand: A Maritime Campaign – Amelia Cheng, Cathrine Pierce, Elizabeth Osborne and Michael Bain, AUT University

Sally Logan-Milne Young Practitioner of the Year

  • Winner: Natasha Stubbing, Northland Regional Council
  • Highly Commended: Bethany Chapman, HMC Communications
  • Highly Commended: Hannah Ross, Adhesive PR
  • Highly Commended: Lydia Tebbutt, Spark New Zealand
  • Highly Commended: Morgan Bailey, Rocket Lab
  • Highly Commended: Tessa Donovan, SenateSHJ

PR Consultancy of the Year (small-medium)

  • Winner: HMC Communications

PR Consultancy of the Year (Medium-Large)

  • Winner: Campbell Squared Communications
  • Highly Commended: Wright Communications

The Public Relations Institute of New Zealand (PRINZ) was established in 1954 to represent the public relations and communication management profession in New Zealand. Today it has more than 1500 members working in public relations and communication management across all sectors of business, consultancy, academia, government, and not-for-profit organisations.

Share this Post