France unveils new global creative comp

EditorNews Make a Comment

PARIS, Today: The Inaugural Gerety Awards has announced its arrival on the international creative awards circuit. “Does the world REALLY need another awards show? reads the blurb.

“NO,” says organiser Lucia Ongay (formerly of the Epica Awards). “The world REALLY needs a new kind of awards show.

“At a time when the advertising industry is trying to redefine itself, awards shows also need to redefine their role. This is the philosophy behind the Gerety Awards,” she says.

“The creation of the Gerety Awards is designed to provide a global platform for talent and support initiatives that champion diversity in the creative industries.

“Juries will sit in London, Hamburg, New York, Mumbai, Paris, São Paulo, Stockholm, Beirut, Amsterdam and Sydney.”

The confirmed jury includes:

  • Rosie Arnold, former CCO, AMV BBDO
  • Susan Credle, Global CCO, FCB
  • Nunu Ntshingila, regional director, Facebook Africa
  • Merlee Cruz-Jayme “Chairmom” and Chief Creative Officer, Dentsu Jayme Syfu

Ongay and her colleague Joe Brooks (also ex-Epica) have 20 years combined experience working for advertising awards and say they believe it is time to do something different.

“When we first started talking to key industry leaders about our ideas for the Gerety Awards, we were surprised by the passion and enthusiasm about this concept,” Ongay said. “This convinced us that what the industry needs now is a new kind of awards show.

“Winning a Gerety will stand for the highest creative standards. As times are changing so should our approach to creativity. Our jury will redefine what is traditionally perceived as ‘normal’ for the advertising industry.

Named for Frances Gerety, the copywriter who coined the slogan A diamond is forever, the Gerety Awards recognises global talent, mentors and allies within advertising—“the people who will define and refine the standard to which advertising should be held”.

Partners include Thoughtbubble and TipsTank

The Geretys are now open for entries. They close on 1 April.

Share this Post