Home truths communicated with empathy, compassion

Editor News Make a Comment

Christchurch City Council communications team members Anne-Marie Robinson and Linda Bennett have overnight been awarded the top honour for their entry ‘Home truths – communicating the risk of landslides to Port Hills residents’ at the annual PRINZ Awards. 

PRINZ award category winners, highly commended place-getters and the Supreme Award were announced at the Awards Gala Dinner in Wellington.

The awards recognise excellence in New Zealand’s public relations and communications industry, promote continuous improvement and celebrate best practice. This year’s awards attracted a record 68 entries from around the country, with seven winners eligible for the overall Supreme Award.

Chief judge Anna Radford said the project stood out to the Supreme judging panel. “With around 1400 Port Hills homes in the affected area the task was not small, and was carried out in a very short time frame.

“The entrants’ work was thorough, thoughtful and showed sensitive handling of a fraught and complex situation. This combined with intelligent planning, excellent stakeholder analysis and very professional, yet empathetic, implementation resulted in a project that significantly over-achieved its communication goals.”

The Port Hills entry vied for the honour against six other category winners, with Supreme Award judging undertaken by Anna Radford, PRINZ president Bruce Fraser and PRINZ Fellow Lisa Finucane.

All winners are eligible to enter the global COMM PRIX Awards organised by the Global Alliance for Public Relations and Communication Management. Three PRINZ Award winners have gone on to receive COMM PRIX Awards in the past two years. The ANZ New Zealand Corporate Affairs team has won two COMM PRIX Awards (2013, 2014) and the NZ Transport Agency won a COMM PRIX in 2013.



Corporate Public Relations

Winner:DairyNZ levy vote – demonstrating value in 2014 and beyond – Hayley Gavan, Bernie Walsh, Phillipa Adam, DairyNZ.

Highly Commended: What’s in a name? – From Telecom to Spark, rebranding one of New Zealand’s best known businesses – Richard Llewellyn, Andrew Pirie, Lucy Fullarton, Conor Roberts, Vicky Gray, Sam Durbin, Todd Parker, Courtney Bennett, Spark New Zealand.

Government / Quasi Government Public Relations

Winner: Home truths – communicating the risk of landslides to Port Hills residents – Anne-Marie Robinson, Linda Bennett, Christchurch City Council.

Highly Commended: ‘Are you that someone?’ – Preventing sexual violence – Hanna Kilpin, Janice Rodenburg, Ideas Shop. Gig-borne: The city that dared to dream – Kerry Donovan, Nicola Chrisp, Express PR.

Internal Communications

Winner: Sparking change – the internal journey from Telecom to Spark New Zealand – Courtney Bennett, Andrew Pirie, Todd Parker, Richard Llewellyn, Vicky Gray, Sam Durbin, Spark New Zealand.

Highly Commended: Auckland Tourism, Events & Economic Development (ATEED) – ‘Vision to Values’- Duncan Croft, Auckland Tourism, Events & Economic Development.

Issues, Crisis or Emergency Management

Highly Commended: Canterbury DHB Heading to Hospital – Plan your trip – Karalyn Van Deursen, Canterbury District Health Board. Communicating bad news to 11,000 people – Katherine Trought, Lee Harris, Felicity Price, Environment Canterbury.

Limited Budget Public Relations

Highly Commended: Global first for Emirates in the Cloud – Jessica Wiggins, Robert Wallace, Charlotte-Amelie Milton, Professional Public Relations.

Marketing Communication – Integrated

Winner: The TRESemmé 365 Project – Mikaila Hutchison and Kristy Mayo, Spark PR & Activate.

Marketing Communication – Public Relations

Highly Commended: Spark: ‘Emojifying’ the iPhone 6 – Vicky Gray , Sam Durbin, Lucy Fullarton, Andrew Pirie, Richard Llewellyn, Spark New Zealand; Trish Sherson, Michael James, Skye Pathare, Rewa Willis, Sherson Willis.

Not-for-Profit Public Relations

Winner: Givealittle, help a lot: The journey to becoming New Zealand’s largest crowdfunding platform – Geraldine Ramirez, Lynne Le Gros and Courtney Bennett, Spark Foundation.

Highly Commended: Shining the light on Achilles – Arya Franklyn, Cigna Life Insurance

Paul Dryden Tertiary Award

Winner: Uptown Business Association: Rise & Dine Campaign – Kristy Burden, Lily Batt, Hannah Roberts, AUT University students.

Special Event or Project

Winner: Setting new standards in steel – Hamish Anderson, Lisa van Beurden, Amy Hacon, Hotwire.

Highly Commended: Healthcare Think Tank, hosted by Southern Cross – Louisa Jones, Strahan Wallis, Kaya Arai, Porter Novelli New Zealand. Spark Automatic Thanks Machine – Vicky Gray, Andrew Pirie, Richard Llewellyn, Lucy Fullarton, Spark New Zealand; Michael James, Skye Pathare, Rewa Willis, Trish Sherson, Sherson Willis.

Sustained Public Relations

Winner: Buddy Day – it takes a community to raise a child – Amy Meade, Heather Claycomb, HMC Communications;  Summer Reid, Child Matters.

Sally Logan-Milne Young Practitioner of the Year

Winner: Brad Pogson, Porter Novelli New Zealand

Highly Commended: Louisa Jones, Porter Novelli New Zealand

Share this Post