Media Design School names student winners

EditorNews Make a Comment

The Media Design School has named its 2017 Bright Awards winners – selected from over 60 secondary schools across New Zealand that entered.

The Bright Awards were created to recognise New Zealand’s up-and-coming creative talents in five categories: Animation, Graphic Design, Games, Web and Interactive, and Photography.

The Bright Awards sought out digital design submissions from Year 11-13 students across Aotearoa to showcase how they are bringing their creative craft to life.

Each category winner is awarded two major cash prizes: $1000 for themselves and $3000 for their secondary school.

Based on the quantity and quality of the submissions received, a sixth prize, the Bright School of the Year Award, was awarded to the school that demonstrated its ability to produce talented students in the fields of digital and traditional design.

Jim Murray, the MDS lecturer who led the jury, said he was delighted by the high calibre of submissions received from schools across the country. “We received entries from as far north as Kerikeri and as far south as Invercargill,” he said.

“Each of these submissions brilliantly illustrated the amount of creative talent that schools across New Zealand are fostering within their students.”


Animation Winner: Anna Kong, Saint Kentigern College: Why do we DO what we do.
Animation Highly Commended: Zoe McCracken, Epsom Girls Grammar: Humdrum!?
Animation Highly Commended: Alistair William Kincaid, Saint Kentigern College: Chi Chi.
Games Winner: Dominic Beaton, St Johns College: Higher Tower.
Games Highly Commended: Ruoyun Zhang, Takapuna Grammar School: Collection of Hatched Eggs.
Games Highly Commended: Joshua Alain Dormer, Kerikeri High School: Faller.
Graphic Design Winner: Lucy Beres, Columba College: Black, White and the Inbetween.
Graphic Design Highly Commended: Gracie Allen Manktelow, Aquinas College: Cutting Shapes.
Graphic Design Highly Commended: Sasha Meyer, Columba College: Ecosong Campaign.
Photography Winner: Liam Ferry, Inglewood High School: Photography.
Photography Highly Commended: Babette Morris, Otumoetai College, Untitled.
Photography Highly Commended: Joshua Astwood, Inglewood High School: My Photos.
Web & Interactive Winner: Gideon Wislang, Whangaparaoa College: Slash Host.
Web & Interactive Highly Commended: Gus Clelland, Hobsonville Point Secondary School: Drive Electric App.
Web & Interactive Highly Commended: Orlando Parisblue, Onslow College: Priscilla.
2017 Bright School of the Year Award: Inglewood High School, New Plymouth.

Share this Post