NZME junior wins IAB Grand Prix

Editor News Make a Comment

AUCKLAND, Today: NZME’s Charlotte Startin won the Grand Prix at the IABNZ Awards, held a fortnight ago at Motat Auckland. An IAB representative told M+AD this morning that the two-week delay in announcing the winners was due to “work overload” (unsurprising, given significant management changes at the IAB – scroll down to read more).

Startin, who came to her Grand Prix win via the Junior Award in the Ad-Operations category, receives an all-expenses paid trip to Barcelona in February 2019 to attend the Mobile World Congress.

“The Service to Industry Award went to Michael Te Young of FutureYou.”

The awards recognise the champions of the interactive media sales industry. The IAB release says a record number of entries was received.

“With a strong focus on NZ publishers, the awards programme celebrates the stars of interactive media sales and advertising operations across a broad range of categories,” says the release.

The winners of the Ad-Sales Excellence categories were:

  • Mobile Sales – Michael Buhagiar, Big Mobile
  • Display Sales – Mel Graham, MetService
  • Video Sales – James Rogal, MediaWorks
  • Search Sales – Steve Crowe, This Side Up

The winners of the Ad-Operations Excellence categories were:

  • Junior Award – Charlotte Startin, NZME
  • Senior Award – Christine Jones, Stuff

This year saw the introduction of a number of new award categories and the winners were:

  • Digital Agency of the Year – Acquire Online
  • Trading Desk of the Year – Acquire Online
  • Rising Star Award – Harry Sturt, Sense Data
  • IABNZ Council Member of the Year – Roger Shakes, NZ Media Tech Partners, for his outstanding contribution to the Mobile Advertising Council
  • Best Use of Video, which attracted the most entries, was won jointly by ‘BNZ – The Hardest Working Video’ campaign from Mediacom/TVNZ, and ‘Sensodyne – The Morning Brush Up’ campaign from Stuff NZ

Reflecting the importance of creatives behind the sales, the awards also included four digitally-led creative categories, and the winners were:

  • Best Use of Mobile – Sense Data/FCB
  • Best Use of Data – This Side Up
  • Best Use of Native – NZME
  • Best Use of Video – won jointly by Mediacom/TVNZ, and Stuff
  • The ‘Digital Product of the Year award went to Trade Me for their Customer Insights Data tool.

The Service to Industry Award went to Michael Te Young of FutureYou.

Grand Prix winner Charlotte Startin from NZME said: “It is such an honour and I am excited to attend the World Mobile Congress in Barcelona. Not only is it an incredible city, the chance to learn from world leaders in this industry will be invaluable.

“I am looking forward to absorbing as much information as possible and meeting colleagues from forward-thinking companies across the world and sharing the experiences with IAB members when I get back.”

Maxwell & Pickstock step down
Laura Maxwell, chief digital officer at NZME and IABNZ chair for the past three years announced that she has stepped down but will remain on the board.

Her replacement is Rhys Heron, MD at Mi9 NZ, and an IABNZ board member and chair of its Mobile Advertising Council.

And, after four years as IAB ceo, Adrian Pickstock is leaving to focus on his consultancy business, with Gill Stewart taking over the ceo role.

Maxwell said: “Adrian has raised the profile of the interactive advertising ecosystem in New Zealand and facilitated the development of the new revenue reporting that more accurately reflects apportionment of revenue.

“Incoming ceo Gill Stewart brings with her a wealth of experience in senior roles, including ceo of the NZ Marketing Association and GM of The Radio Bureau.”

The supporters
The IABNZ Awards 2018 was supported by principal sponsor Ad:tech Auckland, and category sponsors Nielsen, Taboola, Brightcove, Marsden Inch, Google, Google Marketing Platform.

The After Party was supported by digital marketing platform provider Lotame (also held at the Motat Aviation Hall.

Share this Post