Barbara Chapman steps up

EditorNews Make a Comment

AUCKLAND, Today: NZME this morning advised the NZ Stock Exchange that its board of directors has appointed Barbara Chapman as its chair – replacing Peter Cullinane who resigned last week under pressure from disgruntled Aussie investors.

Chapman has been an independent director of the NZME board since April 2018.

She has extensive business leadership and governance experience gained through a successful career in banking, insurance and governance roles. During her career she has held a number of senior and executive roles in retail banking, marketing, communications, human resources and life insurance.

She served as ceo & MD of ASB Bank from 2011 until 2018. She is the chair of Genesis Energy and holds independent directorships on the boards of Fletcher Building and IAG NZ.

“This morning, Chapman advised she would resign from her IAG directorship to dedicate more time to her new role.”

Today, she advised that she would be resigning from her directorship at IAG (effective 30 June) to enable her to dedicate more of her time to her new role at NZME.

Chapman said: “Media is an incredibly vibrant industry in New Zealand and NZME is at the very heart of that sector. I’m honoured to be able to play a role helping ensure NZME and the wider industry have a thriving and sustainable future supporting New Zealand communities.”

NZME ceo Michael Boggs said: “Barbara is one of New Zealand’s most experienced business leaders and I’m looking forward to working with her as we deliver on NZME’s growth for our people, our communities and our shareholders.”

NZ Order of Merit
In 2019, Chapman was made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the New Year Honours for her services to business.

The honour recognised her successful career and her commitment to the NZ business community through her roles as deputy chair of The New Zealand Initiative, patron of the New Zealand Rainbow Tick Excellence Awards, chair of the CEO Summit Committee for APEC 2021, and her work on the Reserve Bank Act Review Panel and the Prime Minister’s Business Advisory Council.

Share this Post