NZME makes waves at four award shows

Editor News Make a Comment

NZME enjoyed a strong run of award wins at last week’s NZ comms ceremonies, taking home honours at the NZ Radio Awards, Beacon Awards, Pride in Print Awards and the Voyager Media Awards.

Much of the information below has appeared previously in M+AD over the past week – but this is the first list to collect all the winners from one individual publisher. Somebody at NZME has put in an awful lot of work to compile this complete list!

The Radio Awards
Newstalk ZB and ZM were standouts at the Radio Awards, with both stations taking home a handful of prizes. At the Voyagers, and Weekend Herald took home the top prizes of Best News Website and Newspaper of the Year, respectively.

The Radio Awards celebrate the best of New Zealand Radio, honouring excellence in radio broadcasting including on air personalities and talent behind the scenes.

Newstalk ZB had a particularly successful night at the Awards, with Jason Winstanley and Nadia Tolich, Niva Retimanu, Mike Hosking and Marcus Lush taking home trophies for Best Content Directors, Best Newsreader, Best Talk Presenter (Breakfast or Drive) and Best Talk Presenter (Other), respectively.

Hosking was also awarded the prestigious Outstanding Contribution to Radio award.

ZM’s Fletch, Vaughan and Megan won Best Music Breakfast Show (Network).

The Beacon Awards
The Beacon Awards were also on Thursday night. They recognise the power of innovative and effective media solutions to achieve outstanding results for clients, with a focus on strategy and implementation.

NZME were part of the team that won Best Small Budget recognition. FCB Media and Westpac NZ highlighted the gender inequality issue with a powerful special edition of the NZ Herald that only carried 29% of its content, representing the percentage of New Zealand’s business leaders that are women.

The Voyager Media Awards
The Voyager Media awards celebrate the best in journalism. NZME and the New Zealand Herald had a fantastic result at the Friday night ceremony, bringing home major awards and fantastic individual achievements. was named Best News Website, and its Break the Silence youth suicide campaign was awarded Best Editorial Campaign. The judges said, “Comprehensive and outstanding reporting by Olivia Carville, in a brilliantly-executed campaign revealing horrifying statistics and stories behind our abnormally high teen suicide rate, was the standout entry in this category. Quiet hope that change might come emerged and The New Zealand Herald is to be applauded for its bravery in challenging what has been up till now hushed-up failure or acceptance of the status quo.”

The Weekend Herald was named Newspaper of the Year for the second year in a row, and Best Weekly Newspaper. Matt Nippert won the prestigious Wolfson College scholarship, which will see him attend Cambridge University in the United Kingdom for 10 weeks. He also was awarded Business Journalist of the Year.

Pride in Print
The Pride in Print Awards recognise excellent in print, with judging based on technical excellence in all facets of print production. NZME won a Special Recognition Award as well as a Gold Medal in the Publications Newspaper category.

NZME ceo Michael Boggs said: “It’s incredible to see so many of the team recognised for their outstanding contributions. Whether they are heard on the radio, read in the paper and online or involved behind the scenes, it’s fantastic to see people awarded for the work they do. Congratulations to all the winners, both at NZME and our colleagues in the industry, and to everyone who was named as a finalist across the four award celebrations.”



Best Children’s Programme: The Crazy Kiwi Christmas Kids Show, Christian Broadcasting Assoc & NZME
Best Community Campaign: Pledge for Plunket, The Hits
Best Content – Best Content Director: Jason Winstanley and Nadia Tolich, Newstalk ZB
Best Content – Best Show Producer: Emily Winstanley
Best Content – Best Video: Neil Finn, Bhuja TV, Radio Hauraki, & Lorde: The Babysitter, ZM
Best New Broadcaster – Off Air: Evan Paea
Best News and Sport – Best Newsreader: Niva Retimanu, Newstalk ZB
Best News and Sport – Best Sports Reader, Presenter or Commentator: Martin Devlin, Radio Sport
Best News and Sport – Best Sports Story – Team Coverage: The America’s Cup, Newstalk ZB/Radio Sport
Best On Air – Best Music Breakfast Show, Network: Fletch, Vaughan and Megan, ZM
Best On Air – Best Talk Presenter, Breakfast or Drive: Mike Hosking, Newstalk ZB
Best On Air – Best Talk Presenter, Other: Marcus Lush, Newstalk ZB
Best Promotion – Best Client Digital/Social Promotion: The ACC Mammoth Summer of Cricket
Best Promotion – Best Digital Content:
Best Promotion – Best Marketing Campaign: $50,000 Secret Sound, ZM
Best Promotion – Best Network Station Promotion: Flochella, ZM
Best Technical Production – Best Station Trailer: ZM’s Secret Sound, ZM
Outstanding Contribution to Radio: Mike Hosking
Services to Broadcasting: Bryan Waddle and Peter Everett.


Digital – Best News Website or App:
Feature Writing – sport: Dana Johannsen
Feature Writing (Long-form) – Health, education and/or general: Kirsty Johnston
Feature Writing (Short-form) – Arts, entertainment and lifestyle: Greg Bruce
Feature Writing (Short-form) – Health, education and/or general: Greg Bruce
General – Best editorial campaign or project: for Break the Silence
General – Editorial Executive of the Year: Murray Kirkness
Newspapers – Best Newspaper Front Page: Hawke’s Bay Today
Newspapers – Weekly Newspaper of the Year: Weekend Herald
Opinion Writing – Opinion Writer of the Year: Steve Braunias
Photography – Best Photography, general: John Borren
Reporting – Crime, justice and/or social issues: Jared Savage
Reporting – Best investigation: Olivia Carville for What becomes of the Broken Hearted
Reporting – Regional Journalist of the Year: Carmen Hall, Bay of Plenty Times
Reporting – Sports Journalist of the Year: Dana Johannsen
Reporting – Business Journalist of the Year: Matt Nippert
Reporting – Political Journalist of the Year: Audrey Young
Videography – Best team video, feature: NZ Herald for Under the Bridge
Videography – Best videographer, junior: Jaden McLeod, NZ Herald Local Focus
Videography – Videographer of the Year: Alexander Robertson, NZME/Very Nice Productions
Videography – Videographer of the Year: Mike Scott, NZ Herald/NZME
Supreme Individual prize – Scholarship to Wolfson College, Cambridge University: Matt Nippert

NZME was involved with these winners:

Best Small Budget (up to $100k per annum) – FCB Media, Westpac NZ, The inequality Issue
Best Creative Media Idea  Gold – FCB Media, Westpac NZ, The Inequality Issue
Best Collaboration – Gold – FCB Media, Westpac NZ, The Inequality Issue
Best in Show – FCB Media, Westpac NZ, The Inequality Issue

Special Recognition Award: Newspaper Publications – Gold medal

Share this Post