PR Awards finalists unveiled

Editor News Make a Comment

The Public Relations Institute (PRINZ) has announced 21 finalists for its 41st annual industry awards from a record 68 entries. 

Winners in each category are now judged by a Supreme judging panel – consisting of chief judge Anna Radford, PRINZ president Bruce Fraser, and PRINZ Fellow Lisa Finucane – to determine the Supreme Winner.

Category winners and the Supreme Award recipient will be revealed at the PRINZ Awards gala dinner in Wellington on Thursday 21 May.

All category winners are eligible to enter the global COMM PRIX Awards organised by the Global Alliance for Public Relations and Communication Management. Three PRINZ Award winners have gone on to receive COMM PRIX Awards in the past two years – the ANZ New Zealand Corporate Affairs team has won two COMM PRIX Awards (2013, 2014) and the NZ Transport Agency won a COMM PRIX in 2013.

The 2015 PRINZ Awards attracted 68 entries from the corporate, consultancy, not-for-profit and government sectors. From 12 available categories, the most entries were in the ‘Internal communications’ and ‘Government/Quasi-Government communications’ categories, with 11 and 12 entries respectively.

41st PRINZ Awards finalists 2015

  • ‘Are you that someone?’ – Preventing sexual violence – Hanna Kilpin, Janice Rodenburg, Ideas Shop.
  • Auckland Tourism, Events & Economic Development (ATEED) – ‘Vision to Values’- Duncan Croft, Auckland Tourism, Events & Economic Development.
  • Buddy Day – it takes a community to raise a child – Amy Meade, Heather Claycomb, HMC Communications;  Summer Reid, Child Matters.
  • Canterbury DHB Heading to Hospital – Plan your trip – Karalyn Van Deursen, Canterbury District Health Board.
  • Communicating bad news to 11,000 people – Katherine Trought, Lee Harris, Felicity Price, Environment Canterbury.
  • DairyNZ levy vote – demonstrating value in 2014 and beyond – Hayley Gavan, Bernie Walsh, Phillipa Adam, DairyNZ.
  • Gig-borne: The city that dared to dream – Kerry Donovan, Nicola Chrisp, Express PR.
  • Givealittle, help a lot: The journey to becoming New Zealand’s largest crowdfunding platform – Geraldine Ramirez, Spark New Zealand.
  • Global first for Emirates in the Cloud – Jessica Wiggins, Robert Wallace, Charlotte-Amelie Milton, Professional Public Relations.
  • Healthcare Think Tank, hosted by Southern Cross – Louisa Jones, Strahan Wallis, Kaya Arai, Porter Novelli NZ.
  • Home truths – communicating the risk of landslides to Port Hills residents – Anne-Marie Robinson, Linda Bennett, Christchurch City Council.
  • The TRESemmé 365 Project – Mikaila Hutchison, Spark PR & Activate.
  • Setting new standards in steel – Hamish Anderson, Lisa van Beurden, Amy Hacon, Hotwire.
  • Shining the light on Achilles – Arya Franklyn, Cigna.
  • Spark Automatic Thanks Machine – Vicky Gray, Andrew Pirie, Richard Llewellyn, Lucy Fullarton, Spark New Zealand; Michael James, Skye Pathare, Rewa Willis, Trish Sherson, Sherson Willis.
  • Spark: Emojifying the iPhone 6 – Vicky Gray , Sam Durbin, Lucy Fullarton, Andrew Pirie, Richard Llewellyn, Spark New Zealand; Trish Sherson, Michael James, Skye Pathare, Rewa Willis, Sherson Willis.
  • Sparking change – the internal journey from Telecom to Spark New Zealand – Courtney Bennett, Andrew Pirie, Todd Parker, Richard Llewellyn, Vicky Gray, Sam Durbin, Spark New Zealand.
  • Uptown Business Association: Rise & Dine Campaign – Kristy Burden, Lily Batt, Hannah Roberts, AUT University.
  • What’s in a name? – From Telecom to Spark, rebranding one of New Zealand’s best known businesses – Richard Llewellyn, Andrew Pirie, Lucy Fullarton, Conor Roberts, Vicky Gray, Sam Durbin, Todd Parker, Courtney Bennett, Spark New Zealand.

Sally Logan-Milne Young Practitioner of the Year finalists

  • Brad Pogson, Vodafone New Zealand
  • Louisa Jones, Porter Novelli NZ

Share this Post