Print titles square up for Canon Media Awards

EditorNews Make a Comment

The finalists for this year’s Canon Media Awards have been announced, with The New Zealand Herald, Taranaki Daily News, Waikato Times Weekend and Public Address looking to repeat last year’s wins.

The NZ Herald, ODT, Dominion Post and The Press are the Newspaper of the Year finalists at the 2017 Canon Media Awards.

These awards aim to honour NZ’s newspapers, magazines, websites, writers, columnists, cartoonists, reviewers and photographers.

Smaller dailies
Nominees for newspapers with a circulation of less than 30,000 include Hawke’s Bay Today, Manawatu Standard, Marlborough Express, Nelson Mail and Waikato Times.

Weekly Newspaper of the Year finalists include the Waikato Times Weekend, Weekend Herald, The Press, Sunday Star-Times and Bay of Plenty Times Weekend.

Website of the Year finalists are the NZ Herald, Stuff, Interest and The Spinoff; Best Blog Site finalists are Public Address, Villainesse and The Spinoff Parents.

Magazine of the Year
Kowhai Media’s Mana and NZ Geographic, and Bauer’s North & South are both nominated for Magazine of the Year.

The Best Writers include Diana Witchell (Listener), Simon Wilson (Metro), Donna Chisholm (North & South), Jeremy Olds (Sunday Star-Times), Duncan Grieve (The Spinoff), Joanna Wane (North & South), Steve Braunias (NZ Herald), and Dylan Cleaver (NZ Herald).

Best Headline
Best headline (sadly, only their names were supplied – not what they wrote): Ian Allen, (Marlborough Express), Bernadette Courtney (Dominion Post), James Croot (Stuff), Matthew Dallas (Manawatu Standard), Dave Nicoll (Southland Times).

Trade mags & Business Journos
NZ Dairy Exporter made the finals in the Trade/Specialist Publication/website. Business Journalist of the Year finalists included Liam Dann (NZ Herald), Tim Hunter (NBR), Hamish Rutherford (Dominion Post), Gareth Vaughan (Interest), Matt Nippert & Caleb Tutty (NZ Herald).

Cartoonist of the Year finalists included Steve Bolton (Listener), Rod Emmerson (NZ Herald), Malcolm Evans (Northland Age), and Shaun Yeo (Sunday News and Sunday Star-Times).

Best Reviewer
Best Reviewer finalists included Russell Baillie (NZ Herald), Chris Barton (Metro), and Jesse Mulligan, (Viva/NZ Herald).

  • Awards night is Friday 19 May at The Langham.
  • There’s dozens of categories. And they’re easy to read. See them all here

Share this Post