NZME & Stuff journos in party mode after big wins

EditorNews Make a Comment

AUCKLAND, Saturday: NZME and Stuff are both celebrating outstanding results from the 2023 Voyager Media Awards, held at the weekend. The awards focus is excellence in New Zealand journalism across print, broadcast and digital.

Stuff scored 23 prizes, including News App of the Year, while weekend edition won Weekly Newspaper of the Year (The Press Christchurch), Regional Newspaper (Nelson Mail), and Best Newspaper Front Page.

The Sunday Star-Times also won and Sunday was crowned Best Newspaper Magazine. 

Judges said Stuff’s app delivers consistently great hooks and headlines that attract more than a quarter of the country’s population daily. deputy editor Janine Fenwick won Editorial Leader of the Year. Best Editorial Campaign went to Stuff’s The Whole Truth; Te Māramatanga, and Best Documentary (Fire and Fury).

Nikki Macdonald awarded Business Journalist of the Year, Dana Johannsen named Sports Journalist of the Year, Caroline Williams took out Community Journalist of the Year and Andrea Vance was crowned Best Columnist. 

Sunday is engaging from beginning to end, with timely and informed cover stories, a playful and pleasing design, seamless use of te reo Māori throughout, and intelligent fashion.”

Other wins included Felippe Rodrigues for Best Data Journalism, Katie Ham for Best Student Journalist and Carla Amos for Best Headline or Hook.

Across the Best Feature Writing categories, Michelle Duff won the General section for her story on millionaire philanthropist Chloe Wright, while Mike White took out the Crime and Justice category for his story on the framing of struggling builder David Lyttle.

Christchurch-based visual journalist Chris Skelton was a stand-out performer at this year’s awards, winning four categories including the Photographer of the Year, Best Photography – Features, Best News Photography (The Press and Stuff), and Best Feature Video.

Visual journalist Alan Gibson scooped Best Photo Story/ Essay, while designer Kwok Yi Lee won Best Artist/Graphic Design.

NZME took home an array of awards from the NZ Herald and BusinessDesk.

Three supreme awards were picked up by the Herald – News Website of the Year (for the fourth consecutive year), Voyager Newspaper of the Year and Metropolitan Newspaper of the Year.

“NZME ceo Michael Boggs paid tribute to previous managing editor Shayne Currie, who has moved into a new role as NZME editor at large.”

Individual NZME wins included Nicholas Jones (Best Individual Investigation), Vaimoana Mase (Best Opinion Writing), Oliver Lewis (Best Reporting Local Government) and Audrey Young (Political Journalist of the Year).

NZME’s other individual awards were: Alex Spence (Best Social Issues Feature Writer), Nicholas Jones (Best Social Issues Reporter) and Jamie Morton (Best Science Reporter).

The Herald’s Thomas Bywater was awarded the Gordon McLauchlan Travel Journalism Award, Steven Holloway and Seamus Marten took home Best Original Ongoing Podcast.

NZME ceo Michael Boggs paid tribute to previous NZME managing editor Shayne Currie, who recently moved into a new role as NZME editor at large.

“Over the past seven years Shayne has led a high-performing, award-winning team and has done a fantastic job in driving digital transformation and integration across NZME’s platforms.

His contribution to NZME has been and continues to be invaluable.”

Share this Post