Voters chose DDB’s Pop’s Gift

EditorTVCs, News Make a Comment

DDB and Lotto New Zealand are cracking open the good stuff after Fair Go announced last night that Pop’s Gift was voted New Zealand’s Best Ad for 2015.

Created in a bid to help Kiwis imagine what winning Lotto Powerball might mean for their lives and loved ones, and directed by Steve Ayson from The Sweet Shop, the story follows the journey to freedom for one family.

“It’s amazing to see the New Zealand public vote the Lotto Powerball film as the best ad in the country for 2015,” said DDB ceo Justin Mowday. “We made a big call to focus on what we thought people really wanted to win – freedom, choice and time with family, rather than super-yachts and castles – and it’s worked really well both for capturing the hearts of the nation, and for sales.

“We’ve now also established a long-term brand platform with the ‘Imagine’ thought, which has literally endless creative possibilities for us to explore. A massive congratulations to Lotto NZ for backing this idea and capturing the nation’s imagination.”

DDB chief creative officer Damon Stapleton says that winning New Zealand’s favourite ad is all about telling an authentic story.

“It’s not about Ferraris, it’s more about experiences,” he said. “It’s about what you would really do if you won.

“If you’re going to tell a story that quickly, in a number of seconds, people have to believe it. And I think that’s really where we really got it right because it was authentic, it was real, and making a good ad is all about telling an authentic story.”

NZ’s worst ad was Shine’s Hyundai Get Lost (personally, we’d have voted for any ad in the current Youi campaign). The finalists for worst ad were Assignment’s Indepen-dance (voters had a bob each way on this one), and Y&R’s Cigna Funeral Cover.

The best ad finalists were FCB’s Kiwibank Piggy Sue, Assignment’s Indepen-dance, and Clemenger’s KiwiRail Take a Break.


Lotto NZ

Chief Marketing Officer: Guy Cousins
Head of Brand & Communications: Keri Merrilees


Chief Creative Officer: Damon Stapleton
Executive Creative Director: Shane Bradnick
Senior Copywriter: Natalie Knight
Senior Art Director: Corinne Goode
Executive Producer: Judy Thompson
TV Producer: Rosie Grayson
Andy Robilliard: Stills Producer
Head of Planning: Lucinda Sherborne
Group Business Director: Nikki McKelvie
Senior Account Manager: Katya Urlwin
Senior Account Manager: Jaheb Barnett
Account Executive: Michael Doolan
Production Company: The Sweet Shop
Director: Steve Ayson
Executive Producer: Fiona King
Producers: Larisa Tiffin / Kristian Eek
DOP: Germain McMicking
Editor: Peter Sciberras
Grade: Martin Greer
Online: Blockhead / Stefan Coory / Nigel Mortimer
Sound Design: Liquid Studios
Licensing: Jonathan Hughes Franklin Rd
Track: “On the Sea” Beach House
Media: SparkPHD
Photograher: Ross Brown
Stills Retouching: Lightfarm

Share this Post