Voyager honours NZ’s top journos (Updated)

EditorNews Make a Comment

AUCKLAND, Sunday: Stuff, NZME and Discovery/Newshub shared the major honours at the News Publishers’ Association 2022 Voyager Media Awards – a black-tie event at the Cordis on Saturday night.

For Newshub, the names of Patrick Gower, Jenna Lynch, Mihingarangi Forbes, Tova O’Brien, Laura Tupou and Finn Hogan featured prominently.

Stuff’s stars included The Press, Paula Penfold, Kirsty Johnston and John Cowpland. 

NZME’s were The NZ Herald, Steve Braunias and Simon Wilson.

Stuff chief content officer Joanna Norris said: “Our wins are testament to the tenacity and creativity of the journalists. We are so proud of our colleagues who approach each day with the ambition to deliver high quality journalism that makes Aotearoa a better place.

“These awards show that we’re absolutely delivering on that promise.”

Warner Bros Discovery ANZ senior news director Sarah Bristow said: “We’re incredibly proud of our winners and their relentless commitment to bringing New Zealanders the very best news and current affairs.

“Their achievements are testament to the incredible talent in our Newshub team.”

Go to the full results (winners & finalists) of all categories …

“The NPA sponsors – Voyager Internet, NZOA, RNZ, Asia Media Centre, Canon, Google News Initiative, Whakaata Māori, Sky Sport, Spark, Media Chaplaincy NZ, PMCA, Science Media Centre and Telum Media.”

  • Best Artist/Graphic Design
  • Best Coverage Of A Major News Event
  • Best Data Journalism
  • Best Editorial Campaign Or Project
  • Best Innovation In Digital Storytelling – Sponsored By Google News Initiative
  • Best Individual Investigation
  • Best Team Investigation
  • Best Reviewer
  • Best Reporting – Arts And Culture
  • Best Reporting – Crime And Justice
  • Best Reporting – Environment
  • Best Reporting – General
  • Best Reporting – Lifestyle
  • Best Reporting – Local Government
  • Best Reporting – Māori Affairs
  • Best Reporting – Science – Sponsored By Science Media Centre
  • Best Reporting – Social Issues, Including Health And Education
  • Business Journalist Of The Year
  • Cartoonist Of The Year
  • Community Journalist Of The Year
  • Political Journalist Of The Year
  • Regional Journalist Of The Year
  • Sports Journalist Of The Year
  • Best Student Journalist
  • Best Junior Reporter
  • Editorial Leader Of The Year
  • Best team investigation

The NPA also acknowledged its 2022 sponsors – Voyager Internet (the major sponsor), NZ On Air, RNZ, Asia Media Centre, Canon, Google News Initiative, Māori Television/Whakaata Māori, Sky Sport, Spark NZ, Media Chaplaincy NZ, PMCA, Science Media Centre and Telum Media.

The history
Originally the awards were known as the Qantas Press Awards, then the Canon Media Awards.

Share this Post