Weet-Bix brings Buck back

EditorNews Make a Comment

They’ve waited 26 years but rugby fans will finally get to see Wayne ‘Buck’ Shelford back in black when he makes his comeback to the All Blacks in a Weet-Bix collector card line-up that is a who’s who of Kiwi rugby champions.

The iconic catchcry ‘Bring Back Buck’ reverberated around New Zealand sports stadiums after Shelford missed selection for the team in 1990.

But Weet-Bix – The Breakfast of Champions – has put that right.

Shelford has been recalled to take his place in a collector card line-up that celebrates the All Blacks’ record three world champion triumphs (1987, 2011 and 2015).

Shelford, the hard-as-nails No.8 in the imperious 1987 All Blacks team that beat France to win the World Cup for the first time, joins a star-studded 24-player line-up that includes fellow legends Grant Fox, John Kirwan and Sean Fitzpatrick, as well as 2011 heroes Stephen Donald and Piri Weepu and current players Kieran Read, Aaron Smith, Nehe Milner-Skudder and Brodie Retallick.

“It’s a huge relief to finally get the call-up again after all these years,” said Shelford. “And it’s obviously an incredible honour to be included in this selection of so many great past, present and future All Blacks stars.”

The All Blacks are the first team to win three world titles, and fans can get the cards – which feature a player image, a special edition All Blacks logo, player signature, All Blacks number and player stats and facts – by buying specially marked packs of Weet-Bix from mid August.

With demand expected to be huge, a total of 2.6 million cards will be distributed through selected Weet-Bix packs. Collectors will be able to store their cards in a special album available from weetbix.co.nz. A limited edition collector’s tin is also available from selected supermarkets.

The 24-player line-up includes seven All Black captains, five All Black test centurions, four World Rugby World Players of the Year and nine double world champions.

“Every All Black who has worn the black jersey has demonstrated the greatest possible strength, power and pride, cementing the All Blacks as one of the world’s most dominant rugby teams,” says Sanitarium’s executive general manager Pierre van Heerden.

“It was an incredibly tough job, but we have selected 24 All Blacks from our 1987, 2011 and 2015 world champion teams to honour the All Blacks’ legacy, which has stood strong and proud for 130 years.”

The complete list of players is: David Kirk, Michael Jones, Wayne Shelford, Sean Fitzpatrick, John Kirwan, Grant Fox, Stephen Donald, Piri Weepu, Keven Mealamu, Ma’a Nonu, Conrad Smith, Tony Woodcock, Dan Carter, Richie McCaw, Kieran Read, Sam Whitelock, Jerome Kaino, Brodie Retallick, Beauden Barrett, Dane Coles, Sam Cane, Julian Savea, Aaron Smith and Nehe Milner-Skudder

Share this Post