W+K honour bravery in 2015 ANDYs campaign

EditorNews Make a Comment

Wieden+Kennedy Portland has unveiled its campaign for the 2015 International ANDY Awards’ call for entries, and released the list of jurors (one Aussie; no Kiwis). The deadline for entries is Friday 9 January.

The ANDYs, which have been run by the Advertising Club of New York for 50 years, recognise global creativity and craftsmanship.

“As an industry, we can’t solve clients’ business problems or impact change by playing it safe; there are certainly no advertising awards for the mediocre,” says ANDYs president/ceo Gina Grillo. “So this year, the ANDYs campaign is using real-life examples of brave jobs (neurosurgeon, firefighter, astronaut) to remind the industry that we’re in the business of marketing, not saving lives.

“The campaign aims to make bravery less daunting to the creative community and inspire agencies to submit their brave work.”

W+K created three films, a series of display and social media ads, and an interactive quiz on the newly redesigned website www.andyawards.com, and juxtapose these tough jobs against advertising legends Gerry Graf, Dan Wieden, Susan Hoffman and Jeff Benjamin.

In addition, the 2015 ANDYs will feature a new e-commerce awards category to recognise innovative advertising that drives online or mobile transactions by helping customers find, discover and buy.

“The 50th anniversary was a milestone for us and bravery in creativity is something we as an organization believe in,” Grillo said. “We wanted to recognise the brave work done for the past 50 years and encourage the creative community to be brave going forward.

“Colleen and the talented team at W+K captured the spirit of bravery by using humorous situations for creatives to be inspired. Caring about the work and approaching it with passion and bravery is what we want to see more of, and with that comes fame, glory and quite possibly an ANDY for your award shelf.”

  • View the firefighter film: That’s it, at the top of this page.
  • View the neurosurgeon film: “>
  • View the explosives specialist film: “>
  • Take the interactive quiz: www.andyawards.com


The 2015 ANDYs Jury

The only representative from downunder on the jury is Droga 5 Sydney creative chairman David Nobay.

Rosie Bardeles, Executive Creative Director, BETC, London
Mike Byrne, Partner/Chief Creative Officer, Anomaly, New York
Vida Cornelious, Chief Creative Officer, GlobalHue, New York
Matt Eastwood, Worldwide Chief Creative Officer, JWT, New York
David Eriksson, Chief Creative Officer / Co-founder, North Kingdom, Stockholm
Pete Favat, Partner/Chief Creative Officer, Deutsch, Los Angeles
Roberto Fernandez, Executive Creative Director, DAVID Brasil, Sao Paulo
Jeff Goodby, Co-Chairman/Partner, Goodby Silverstein & Partners, San Francisco
Gerry Graf, Founder/Chief Creative Officer, Barton F. Graf 9000, New York
Bob Greenberg, Founder/Chairman and CEO, R/GA, New York
Sa’ad Hussein, Chief Creative Officer and Executive Director, TBWA, Kuala Lumpur
Prasoon Joshi, Executive Chairman, McCann, Mumbai
Margaret Keene, Executive Creative Director, Mullen, Los Angeles
Andrew Keller, Chief Executive Officer / Partner, CP+B, Boulder
Sophia Lindholm, Senior Art Director, Forsman & Bodenfors, Gothenburg
Ben Malbon, Director, Creative Partnerships, Google Labs, New York
Jose Molla, Co-Founder and Creative Director, la communidad, Miami
David Nobay, Creative Chairman, Droga5, Sydney
Juan Carlos Ortiz, President and CEO, DDB Latina, Miami
Josy Paul, Chairman & Chief Creative Officer, BBDO India, Mumbai
Tiffany Rolfe, Partner/Chief Content Officer, Co, New York
Doerte Spengler-Ahrens, Chief Creative Officer, Jung von Matt, Hamburg
Mark Tutssel, Global Chief Creative Officer, Leo Burnett Worldwide, Chicago
Debbi Vandeven, Chief Creative Officer, VML, Kansas City
Mark Waites, Founding Partner/Joint Creative Director, Mother, London
Xanthe Wells, Executive Creative Director, Pitch, Los Angeles



Agency: Wieden+Kennedy
Global ECDs: Colleen DeCourcy, Susan Hoffman
Creative Directors: Alberto Ponte, Ryan O’Rourke
Creative team: Alberto Ponte, Ryan O’Rourke
Interactive Director: Dan Viens
Planner: Andy Lindblade
Account Service: Karrelle Dixon
Film Producer: Ben Grylewicz
Art Buyer: Krystle Mortimore
Interactive Producer: Patrick Marzullo

Share this Post