Zeitgeist in the frame

Editor News Make a Comment

Nine NZ design teams had their work honoured at the 2015 Interior Awards, held at St-Matthew-in-the-city earlier this week.

The awards were presented across nine main categories: Retail, Hospitality, Workplace (up to 1000m2), Workplace (over 1000m2), Civic, Installation, Craftsmanship, Emerging Design Professional and Student.

The awards function itself was a lively affair attended by around 350 design sector people, fuelled by Mt Difficulty wines and a steady supply of exceptionally tasty finger food from Hamish Stewart Caterers. As MC, Jon Bridges had the wit to ensure the formal part of the proceedings moved briskly and smoothly,

Our image (at the top of the page) is AGM Publishing’s June issue of Architecturenow, featuring the Interior Awards Supreme-winning work for TRA in the Britomart.

  • Supreme Award and Workplace (under 1000m2): TRA in the Britomart, by José Gutierrez Ltd. Gutierrez staggered out of St Matthew with a pre-loaded suitcase containing $6000.
  • Retail Award: Ponsonby concerpt store The Shelter by Pennant and Triumph.
  • Hospitality Award: Loretta Café (in Cuba St, Wellington) by Parsonson Architects.
  • Workplace (over 1000m2): Fisher & Paykel Design Centre by Custance.
  • Civic Award: Christchurch Botanic Gardens Visitor Centre by Pattersons.
  • Installation Award: Atamira Dance Company’s MOKO by Rawstorne Studio.
  • Craftsmanship Award: Conservation of the painted dome ceiling in Christchurch’s Isaac Theatre Royal by Studio Carolina Izzo.
  • Student Award: Raimana Jones (University of Auckland) for Architecture of Coexistence: Regenerating Royal Oak through Urban Acupuncture.
  • Emerging Design Professional Award: Meg Rowntree, for a variety of projects (including the BNZ Harbour Quays building, MediaWorks, and Air NZ Koru Lounge).

Share this Post